t: 01159 888 060

NISA AGM Statement by the CEO

I am pleased to inform you that at the recent AGM which took place on Saturday 16th May in Nottingham, members voted in favour of adopting two important rule changes as set out by the NISA Board of Directors and supported by The NSPCC Child Protection in Sport Unit (CPSU).

NISA members approved the adoption of the “Safeguarding and Protecting Young People (SPYP) Policy Case Management and Procedures” item by 156 votes to 89. In addition, members voted to accept the appointment for an Independent Person for any investigations by 167 votes to 94. The proposals to changes in the Associations’ Articles by the NISA board received a 64% vote in favour, but this fell short of the 75% majority vote required.

The changes to the Articles proposed by Alistair Wilson received a 43-45% vote in favour, which was also short of the 75% majority required.

As stated by the NSPCC’s CPSU, adoption of these rules was critical for us to continue to make progress as a governing body in sport. I am delighted that both have been passed.

In addition, I would like to congratulate Elise Christie who was awarded the Vandervell Trophy following her excellent results at the World & European Short Track Championships and Gwyneth Davies, Tina Noble, Mary Parry and Diana Stevens who were awarded Honorary Memberships.

Further details of the AGM and voting results on all items can be found here.

Nick Sellwood

19th May 2015